Posted on

Of Mice and Tyrants )

I thought I’d take a moment and re-share this post from a few months ago. Since I wrote this piece, the erosion of the 1st and 4th amendments has become big news. Not every one was pleased with this opinion of mine. Some folks took a considerable amount of time to explain long fetishized strategies about how they could ward off a U.S. gov’t turned tyrannical. It was clear they had thought about it for some time. My apologies, I never wanted to destroy a dream. Yes, Virginia there are well regulated militias. Speaking of, some folks took issue with the claim I made pertaining to the lack of militias in the U.S. I didn’t mean that there were no militias, merely that they lacked significance. Prove me wrong militias, prove me wrong. Also, there were some who felt I went too easy on guns. I have always been honest about the fact that I like guns. I know that this enjoyment is not borne of the more evolved parts of my brain. I enjoy guns the same way a reptile might, had they the opposable digits. That being said, I owned a gun for 10 or so years, I only used it at a range for target practice (that’s when you go to a huge dusty lot with ply-wood cut-outs and shoot a bunch of bullets at inanimate objects so that you and your gun become better at doing the only thing a gun is is designed to do: killing stuff) then I sold it…I didn’t need it. If guns were banned tomorrow I couldn’t bring myself to care…I really couldn’t

bulls on parade

“No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms.”–Thomas Jefferson

The issue of gun control is rife with stupid arguments on both sides of the isle, and I guess in some ways that’s why I love it so much…I can just float through Facebook and glean the battle-memes.  And there be many.  But no argument for the private ownership of firearms is quite as misguided as the use of the 2nd Amendment.  For those of you unfamiliar with said amendment (I can’t imagine there are many of you) it goes thusly: “A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.” (The 2nd Amendment of the U.S. Constitution as ratified by Congress).  It is the only amendment with a stated purpose and, as of late, that purpose has been most…

View original post 1,048 more words

About pats0

Pats0 is a writer who is informed by a punk-rock ethos, and a hatred for group-think. He is the founding member of The Pirate-Clown Guild of Free-Thinkers, an aegis from under which he soils the internet with his thoughts. Welcome.

Leave a Reply

