Posted on

Strippers and the Fear of the Blank Page

I want to be a writer, this is something I told a friend of mine…it was short for I want to get paid for writing.  I’m already a writer.  I’m already a person who observes the events of my life, collects my thoughts on those events and writes them down on a page.  I’m a writer who feels that the fact I rarely actually write anything down is an insignificant detail in a writing career that is distinguished in its vast possibility, if nothing else.  He asked me, “How does one get into that?”, to which I answered, “I don’t know.”.  This is not entirely true; I know that if you want to get paid for writing you first have to write, and then you must find someone willing to pay for the things you’ve written…and hopefully, if you’re lucky, you can pay for all of the things you need, some of the things you want, and survive the situation with your dignity intact.  It is a dirty business of walking fine lines and navigating mine fields of philosophical minutia, but then everything is when you’re a capitalist.  If you are one, my advice to you is to not think about it too much.  I try not to think about such things, generally, without success.

The first thing, it seems to me, that a writer needs to overcome is fear.  This fear is much akin to the fear that a stripper needs to overcome in his or her work, the fear of exposing oneself.  I used to think the fear of each endeavor, respectively, was the exact opposite, to the writer, the fear of clothing the blank page, and, to the stripper, the fear of disrobing in front of strangers, but I have come to believe that they are the same.  Both include making oneself exposed, the stripper, his or her body and the writer, if done well, his or her soul.  I hope to write well.

About pats0

Pats0 is a writer who is informed by a punk-rock ethos, and a hatred for group-think. He is the founding member of The Pirate-Clown Guild of Free-Thinkers, an aegis from under which he soils the internet with his thoughts. Welcome.

One response to “Strippers and the Fear of the Blank Page

  1. chad ⋅

    write and they will read… and I will read as well…

    Like

Leave a Reply

